Danube-INCO.NET — Advancing Research and Innovation in the Danube Region


European Economic Area (EEA) Grants and Norway Grants

The EEA Grants and Norway Grants represent the contribution of Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway to reducing economic and social disparities and to strengthening bilateral relations with 16 EU countries in Central and Southern Europe and the Baltics. Seven Danube Region countries are beneficiaries of the programme.

  • Posted on: 11.07.2016
  • Norway
  • Acronym: EEA Grants and Norway Grants

Website: Link

Strengthening bilateral relations is a primary objective of the EEA and Norway Grants. Strengthening ties between European countries brings mutual benefits for institutions and organisations in both the donor and beneficiary countries.

To enhance cooperation and knowledge exchange, partnerships between organisations in the donor and beneficiary countries are widely encouraged for mutual benefit and strengthening of the programme and project’s quality. Funds are set aside in all beneficiary countries to support networking and foster project partnerships on initiatives of mutual interest.

What is  supported by grants and where

The EEA Grants and Norway Grants are set up for five-year periods. The EEA Grants are jointly financed by Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, who contribute according to their size and economic wealth. Of the €993 million set aside for the 2009-14 period, Norway provides 95.8%, Iceland 3.0% and Liechtenstein 1.2%.The Norway Grants are financed by Norway alone and amount to approximately €804 million in this period.


Funding is channelled through 150 programmes in the 16 beneficiary countries. Country allocations are based on population size and GDP per capita, making Poland the largest beneficiary state, followed by Romania with €306 million, Hungary €153,3 million and the Czech Republic with €131,8 million. Therewith are Bulgaria, Croatia, Slovakia and Slovenia.

Each beneficiary country agrees on a set of programmes with the donor countries, based on national needs and priorities and the scope for cooperation with the donor countries. All programmes must adhere to standards relating to human rights, good governance, sustainable development and gender equality.

In addition, the individual Memorandum of Understanding with each country lays down the guidelines and specifies any special concerns for individual programmes or for the grant scheme as whole. Inclusion of minorities and improving the situation of the Roma are examples of special concerns.

In the current period, environment and sustainable development is the largest sector, and includes substantial funding targeting climate change and green industry innovation. Other key areas of support are health, education, civil society, research and scholarships, justice and social dialogue.

Grants are available for non-governmental organisations, research and academic institutions and public and private sector bodies.

Organisation type: Agency/Fund | S&T field/scope: Energy, Natural Sciences, Social Sciences | Affilation and Pillar: Key stakeholders, Research and Innovation support Initiatives, Energy and Bio Economy | Geographical focus: Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Romania

Related Content

EEA and Norway Grants 2014-2021
  • News
  • Posted on: 21.06.2016
  • Created by: Zana Bogunovic

EEA and Norway Grants 2014-2021

On 3 May 2016 the Government of Norway signed the agreements with the EU on the EEA and Norway Grants for the 2014-2021 funding period.The EEA Agreement...

read more