Danube-INCO.NET — Advancing Research and Innovation in the Danube Region


€119 million to enhance excellence in research institutions in widening countries

Two calls for projects proposals of the ‘Spreading Excellence and Widening Participation’ Programme open today with deadline of 14 November 2019. It is the only Programme in Horizon 2020 where the coordinator must come exclusively from a widening country – with Research & Innovation (R&I) performance below 70% of the EU average.

  • Posted on: 25.07.2019
  • Belgium

Website: Link

"Widening countries" in Horizon 2020 (2014-2020)

Blue = 15 Member States: Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia.

Yellow = 12 Associated Countries: Albania, Armenia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Faroe Islands, North Macedonia, Georgia, Moldova, Montenegro, Serbia, Tunisia, Turkey and Ukraine.

The ERA Chairs call looks for projects aiming to bring outstanding academics to universities and research institutes to fulfil the potential to produce excellent research, as well as implementing the structural changes necessary to achieve excellence on a sustainable basis. The budget available for the ERA Chairs call is €50 million.

The Twinning call looks for projects linking an institution from a widening country with at least two internationally leading counterparts in Europe. Activities like short-term staff exchanges, expert visits, on-site or virtual trainings, workshops, conference attendances, dissemination and outreach in any field of research are supported. The budget available for the Twinning call is €69 million.

The successful proposals will be known by the end of February 2020, and the grant agreements signed by mid-July 2020.

Both ERA Chair and Twining are part of the Horizon 2020 ‘Spreading Excellence and Widening Participation’ programme, and are managed by the Research Executive Agency (REA).


What are the requirements for participation?

  • The coordinator must be from a ‘widening’ country.
  • ERA-Chair is a mono-beneficiary.
  • For the Twinning call, the consortium must have a coordinator coming from a ‘widening’ country and at least two internationally leading research-intensive counterparts coming from two different member states or associated countries distinct from the country of the coordinating applicant.

How to apply?

Applicants have to submit their proposals electronically. See call open for ERA Chairs and for Twinning. Please follow the guidelines on proposal submission and evaluation.

Source for more information

S&T field/scope: H2020 general | Affilation and Pillar: Research and innovation community | Geographical focus: Western Balkans, Danube Region